Thread: Dry fire drills/ accuracy past 20 yds

Dry fire drills/ accuracy past 20 yds

The last couple of matches I've shot have really reinforced what I've known for a while - my accuracy is unacceptable past 20ish yards when any kind of speed is involved. I'm focusing a lot of my live fire practice at longer distances but I'm wondering if any of you have any tips for working on longer-range accuracy during dry fire.

Typically I dry-fire about 3x week and focus on wall drill, draw/press out at moderate to slow speed, and reloads at slow to fast speeds

This topic interests me as well... I can generally keep it within 4 inches with slow fire at 25 yards. However at any sort of speed, my low prob. and distance shots fall apart.
    I train to be better than I was yesterday. -F2S

I am no expert.

But in my limited experience, inaccuracies past 20 yards have been due to one of two things:
    • Poor fundamentals, or
    • Lack of experience/understanding on my part with regard to the POA/POI for the gun & ammo combination

WRT the second point, I've learned that with my M&P22 (with Federal bulk pack) and M&P9c (with Speer Lawman 115g), I have to use a 6 o'clock hold once distances start increasing. I kept missing high center before I realized this.

Site Supporter
    Not to nitpick, but there are 2 different problems mentioned here: accuracy and precision.

accuracy is hitting your intended target (POA/POI stuff)
    precision is getting a tight group

Quote Originally Posted by JV View Post
    Not to nitpick, but there are 2 different problems mentioned here: accuracy and precision.

accuracy is hitting your intended target (POA/POI stuff)
    precision is getting a tight group
    You and my wife must be related, or you are an engineer. She has said the same thing, correcting me, for at least 20 years.