Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: NYPD 1999 finally uses JHP

NYPD 1999 finally uses JHP

I read a article about OVERPENETRATION that stated the NYD used 115gr 9mm Ball during that time period, and were the last ones to switch to JHP in 1999.
    Pistol used was S&W 5900 DAO series and Sigs P226.

Author Mas Ayoob also listed some statistics of bystanders shot NYPD & LAPD

Don't know if its true or not .

I can see it since LE used 38spl Lead RN at one time.
    I wonder how many bystanders were shot with the LRN bullet

I`m sure it can penetrate pretty far.

I am a NYC resident and a graduate of Ayoob's “rules of engagement” class, the incident which caused the change was this one

The Shooting of Amadou Diallo occurred on February 4, 1999, when Amadou Diallo,
    a 23-year-old immigrant from Guinea, was shot and killed by four New York City
    Police Department plain-clothed officers: Sean Carroll, Richard Murphy, Edward McMellon
    and Kenneth Boss, who fired a combined total of 41 shots, 19 of which struck Diallo,
    outside his apartment at 1157 Wheeler Avenue in the Soundview section of The Bronx.

Us NYC sheep were shocked that the NYPD was going to switch to "cop killing" "inhumane" bullets which had been demonized in the press for so many years.

At that time there was a "joke" on the street: "Next time Ama-dou what the officer tells me."

And it is always amusing to compare the NYPD hit rate (about 20%) with the Tom Given's student hit-rate (about 95%) but of course the two groups were in different situations and trying to accomplish different goals.

Site Supporter
    I fail to see how the overpenetration issue relates to Diallo. Diallo did start investigations of racial issues in shooting behavior and the processes involved in what is called contagious shooting or sympathetic shooting.

Maybe I missed that in Mas' discussions. Got a reference?

Quote Originally Posted by Glenn E. Meyer View Post