Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: JM Custom Kydex AIWB (I have 4 of them)

JM Custom Kydex AIWB (I have 4 of them)

So at the urging of Todd Green, I decided to pick up one of the JM Custom's AIWB holsters. Two years later I now have four of them. This is a common post and I am sure I will not say anything that has not already been said, like "they are great, the one to choose, my favorite holster", etc. But I think I owe it to Tony to say it all again.

As many of you know, I have been carrying AIWB off and on (mostly on) since about 1994. One of my students from my days teaching the HRP program in the Marine Corps was a DEA HEAT team member and carried a Sig 220 AIWB. I remember thinking it was crazy to carry a gun there and asked him about it, he had made a ton of point’s right there on the spot and convinced me that it was the way to go for me.

Anyway, I think I now have close to 20 different holsters for AIWB. Everything from a Galco Scout to a couple of homemade kydex holsters for a Beretta Compact. My experience now goes back 20 years with this carry method and I am sure I have carried as many different guns and holsters in that time frame. Like some others on this forum, I am always looking for the perfect set up. Never truly happy with what I have and always looking for something better or the perfect gun holster combo. Managing the tradeoff between shootablity and concealablity is not an easy task. Add in the decisions about picking between striker fired, DA/SA, or something in between, it seems to be a never ending battle, but a fun mental exercise at the very least.